The appointment of 12 attorneys and judicial professionals to the Telangana High Court as judges has been authorised by the Supreme Court Collegium.

During its meeting on Tuesday, February 1, the Collegium approved the proposal for the promotion of seven attorneys and five judicial officers to the position of judge. Four ladies will be raised as judges: Kasoju Surendhar alias K Surender, Chada Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy, Surepalli Nanda, Mummineni Sudheer Kumar, Juvvadi Sridevi alias Kuchadi Sridevi, Mirza Safiullah Baig, and Natcharaju Shravan Kumar Venkat. The judicial officials who will be promoted are G Anupama Chakravarthy, MG Priyadarshini, Sambasivarao Naidu, A Santosh Reddy, and Dr D Nagarajun.

There will be 30 judges on the Telangana High Court, including Chief Justice Satish Chandra Sharma. The High Court will still have 12 slots. The bench strength of the Telangana High Court grew from 24 to 42 justices in June 2021, with over 2.3 lakh petitions outstanding.

Last September, the High Court swore in seven judges at a time, including four women, for the first time in its history. Another record will be set if the Centre accepts the Collegium’s suggestions this time.

Cases have been waiting in several high courts across the country due to a judge shortage. CJI NV Ramana is actively involved in the appointment of judges, taking this issue into consideration.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here